Norwich Vikings hosted their August motocross meeting at their Cadders Hill venue on Sunday and the fifteen race programme included rounds of the Eastern Evo and the NGR over 30's championships as well as three groups of allcomers line ups. Following the timed practise sessions, the first race saw the NGR riders starting the proceedings with the three leading riders in the series battling for the win. With the lead changing several times, it was series leader Liam Walker who took the win, with Aaron Hopkins finishing inches behind him. Current champion, Tim Clark, was third with Paul Hubbard leading the rest home, chased by Jake Morphey, Lee Keyton and Aaron Smith.

Chris Bastick dominated the Evo group as once again the sound of the twostrokes echoed around the famous old circuit. Bastick took the win leaving Jacob Chambers, Jordan Pasquale and 1980's national star, Jon Barfoot, battling for second place. The allcomers A group saw some fast exciting races, and local star, Luke Parker, Luke Benstead and teenager Dylan Woodcock thrilled the crowd as they fought tooth and nail for the win. They each took turns to lead the first race, and at the finish it was Parker who took the win, passing Benstead on the final corner in a thrilling finish. Woodcock brought his Kawasaki home in third place, with Shaun Southgate, Adam Day and Jason Morland completing the top six.

The second NGR race again saw Hopkins, Walker and Clark having a close battle throughout the race, and Hopkins took the win from Walker by a couple of seconds. Tim Clark had to settle for third again with Hubbard charging through the pack for fourth place.

Bastick easily won the second Evo race on his immaculate looking 1980's Honda, and Brett Fisher had a great ride to claim second place from Chambers, Pasquale and Barfoot.

Once again, the A group of allcomers saw Parker, Woodcock and Benstead at the front in a fierce three way encounter. Parker was narrowly leading from Woodcock at half distance as Benstead suddenly looked down at his Husqvarna engine and retired from the race. Just as it looked as though Parker was going to take his second win, Woodcock made a final push, crossing the finish line for the win. Parker was only three seconds behind him, followed in third by Southgate. Adam Day rode well again to pass Morland on the final lap for fourth place, with young Sudbury club rider, Harry Clark in sixth.

In the final NGR race, Aaron Hopkins took the win and overall first on the day, with Liam Walker maintaining his series lead to grab second place from the Kings Lynn Honda rider, Tim Clark. Yorkshire's Craig Marsden had his best ride of the day to finish fourth ahead of the consistent Paul Hubbard.

Last years Evo champion, Jordan Pasquale, led the final Evo race, followed by Fisher, Chambers and Barfoot, with Bastick back in fifth place. After three laps, Bastick took over at the front and raced to his third win, leaving Fisher holding off Chambers and Barfoot at the finish, as Pasquale dropped back to fifth place at the end of a gruelling race as the sandy circuit was at its toughest.

Race three for the allcomers saw Luke Benstead finally taking a win as he lead home another classic battle with his Husqvarna team mate, Parker, Essex youngster Woodcock settled for third, with Morland, Matt White and George Ellis completing the top six. Earlier in the race, Southgate had retired along with Adam Day, who injured his wrist when crashing at the top of the circuit.

The B group of allcomers saw Chris Lake taking the overall with a hat trick of race wins. Carl Miller had three good rides for second overall, with Lowestoft's Daniel Knights third.

Group C saw Gary Scarlett also scoring three wins on his little 125 cc KTM, with Edward Pegram second overall from Tom Pearmain and Garry Holman.

Results ( overall)

Eastern Evo Championship. 1st Chris Bastick Honda, 2nd Jacob Chambers Honda, 3rd Jordan Pasquale Honda, 4th Jon Barfoot Honda, 5th Adam Gordon Honda, 6th Brett Fisher Honda

NGR over 30's championship. 1st Aaro Hopkins Lings Husqvarna, 2nd Liam Walker KTM, 3rd Tim Clark Herts Honda, 4th Paul Hubbard KTM, 5th Jake Morphey Husqvarna, 6th Aaron Smith KTM

Allcomers Group A. 1st Luke Parker GH Husqvarna, 2nd Dylan Woodcock Kawasaki, 3rd Jason Morland Aim KTM, 4th Luke Benstead GH Husqvarna, 5th George Ellis Husqvarna, 6th Matt White KTM

Allcomers group B. 1st Chris Lake KTM, 2nd Carl Miller Honda, 3rd Daniel Knights Yamaha, 4th Callum McClurg Yamaha, 5th Sam Harwood Honda, 6th John Bavin Yamaha

Allcomers group C. 1st Gary Scarlett KTM, 2nd Edward Pegram Husqvarna, 3rd Tom Pearmain Huqvarna, 4th Gary Holman Honda, 5th Jack Austin Honda, 6th Graham Lazzari Suzuki

Report from Charlie Ralph